Disconnected

As a fantasy writer, there is a lot to say about unplugging, disconnecting, and interacting with the ‘real’ world.  It’s a strange thing that fantasy and computing have in common: there is a lot of virtual in them both.  The online world is a creation, just like my fantasy world is, although in different ways.  I use technology to set down the words of my fantasy world, but there is a key difference that give Lorata a major advantage: when It’s late at night and I pull myself away from the computer at long last, the fantasy keeps on going. 

The story is always flowing through my mind with some scene or another.  Something from book two, an idea for book three, something that I want to edit in book one.  New scenes, favorite scenes, ideas that I need to get onto paper as soon as I can fish a pen out of my purse.  Lorata is always living inside of me. 

I still write, even without a machine in front of me.  If I’m eating out or waiting for an appointment, I almost always have a notebook or stack of papers with me.  I grew up being taught to always have something to write with in my purse or pocket; you never know when you need to write something down, so be prepared.  The stories flow onto the lines as though by way of a magic wand, and I scrawl away as fast as I can in an effort to keep up with my thoughts.  It’s not always easy to let Lorata go. 

There are days when I feel less than inspired, though, or when the real world needs my full attention.  If I am not writing while I wait, I’m reading.  Classical and ancient literature, science-fiction, fantasy, translated Japanese works (I love Kawabata), a little youth fiction (most of which is for my work), and sometimes informational text (culture and linguistics, usually).  I do have a large number of console games, but since this is an entry about being unplugged, I will not go into detail on that; you have probably already surmised which games I like best. 

Without sharing too much of my personal life, I will say that my work keeps me very busy.  It is hard to be disconnected at work, because I use technology in order to do my job.  It is a professional job, and I do enjoy it, as much as I would love to be paid as a full-time writer and become an officially published author.  Outside of work, I visit cultural events in the city as they come up, or go to museums and movies.  I even try to fix up my house.

All in all, I am very much dedicated to writing the stories of Lorata, and there is always some kind of fantasy story going on in my mind. 

About Legends of Lorata

Eleanor Willow is the author of the high fantasy series Legends of Lorata, which takes place on a medieval-style world filled with elves, dragons and faeries. There is also a fourth race, one that is rare and magical: the angelic Starr. Lorata is a planet where four gods are known: good, evil, elemental and celestial-- and there are plenty of legends about them all! One of the most important ones is the prophecy of Jenh's champion, Loracaz, who is promised to return to the land whenever evil threatens to take hold. There are currently for books planned. The first one is completed and currently being edited. Any news I have on about publishing will be shared as it comes in!
Link | This entry was posted in Daily prompt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

